CUAdrama

Training Theatre Artists to Make a Difference

Kimberly Giroux- Thinking of Boston

 I had fully intended to write about my fabulous time in Italy but after the events of yesterday, April 15, I changed my mind. I am originally from Marlborough, Massachusetts. And as a bostonian (because let’s face it anyone from MA is a bostonian), the events of yesterday have affected me immensely. On September 11, 2001, I was only 10 years old and in the 4th grade. My school sheltered us from the news and I only found out about it when my mother picked me up from school. At 10 years old, I could not comprehend how some people could be filled with so much hate to kill people that they don’t even know.

894478_10152284725255752_1778288127_o

And today, I still cannot understand it. I cannot comprehend how anyone could do that. The events of yesterday hit too close to home. New York City, at the age of 10 was a far away place. The London bus bombing in 2005 where even further away. Now that I’m here, it’s not as far away as it was in 2005. The world isn’t as big as I thought it once was. Marlborough is only 45 minutes away from Boston and away from the bombings. That is just too close to home.Events like this should never happen but when they happen so close, you lose any sense of security whether it’s false or not. You lose that last bit of innocence. The world is a scary place but sometimes, when you’re curled up on the couch with your dog next to you and your family around you, you forget. And events like yesterdays bring you back to reality. Reality is a scary thing especially when people willingly chose to blow up innocent men, women, and children. Some of whom have worked years to even get the  chance to run in the Boston Marathon.

 boston

      This brings me to the Richard family. I can’t help but to think of Martin Richard, an 8 year old boy who lost his life while cheering on his dad at the marathon. His mother has had to go through brain surgery and his 6 year old sister lost her leg. I can’t imagine how anyone would want to hurt innocent people like the Richard family. There lives have been changed forever because someone wanted to hurt people. It is just so unimaginable that one of the victims could have been someone I know. Thankfully, no one I know has been injured and I am so thankful for that. CUA’s own Sasha Bratt was running in the Boston Marathon when the bombings occurred. He is fine he was further behind when it happened and rerouted.For me, finding out someone I know was in that race is the scariest thing. It brings the events of yesterday even closer. Sasha could have easily been hurt had he just run faster. And that is why, the bombings at the Boston Marathon have completely destroyed any sense of security I had. The London Marathon is happening on Sunday.The bombings have made me think about where they will hit next. Will they try to bomb the London Marathon too? But, most importantly, why? Why would someone ever be able to justify bombing innocent people for any reason? And how could anyone justify it to themselves?

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 20, 2013 by .
