CUAdrama

Training Theatre Artists to Make a Difference

Greetings from London! by Kelsey Murphy

My name is Kelsey Murphy. I’m a junior drama major and am currently studying abroad at the London Dramatic Academy in Africa. Just kidding. I’m in London and loving it! It’s an amazing place to be, not just for the theatre and the sights but also for everything I’m learning. I have class from 9-6 everyday where I study several aspects of theatre ranging from stage combat to movement, Shakespeare acting to physical theatre, voice to performance, and (of course) period dance. Which if you have ever met me or have seen me around, you’ll know how wonderful I must be at that class.

My professors are all work professionally in some aspect of the London theatre world and are teaching me so much (my acting teacher was Portia from Merchant of Venice in the Globe alongside Mark Rylance. Casual). My classmates, five of whom are musical theatre majors from good ol’ CUA, are all very talented and I’m excited to grow as an actor alongside them.

One of the most exciting aspects of my program is that we take weekly walks around areas of London and get to see a show a week. Last week, we took a trip to the Rose theatre, the first theatre ever built in London. When you step inside the building, you may notice that it’s colder than outside and smells a bit like rotting wood. This is because they built the theatre around where the original Rose stood. When they turned on certain lights we could see the outline of the stage and where the audience stood. Shakespeare himself was said to have attended shows there. So, I can now say that I stood in the mud where Shakespeare once stood. This is the stuff of dreams, people!

We also got to see Mojo, a play starring Ben Whishaw, Brendan Coyle (Bates from Downton Abbey), Colin Morgan, and last but most certainly not least, Rupert Grint. It was amazing to be able to see such an interesting play with an amazing cast. I also got to see Richard II starring David Tennant, which was unbelievable. There are so many shows I have yet to see, and so many streets to look the wrong way down. This semester has only just begun and I’m so excited to see where it takes me. Is it really ridiculous if I end this with a “cheerio”? What about a rice krispie?

Thanks for reading, Frosted Flakes!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 26, 2014 by .
