CUAdrama

Training Theatre Artists to Make a Difference

History, culture, but mostly food…

B.A. Candidate Kira Burri shares her experiences studying abroad in Rome

Ciao da Roma!

Greetings from across the pond! My name is Kira Burri and I am a junior drama major studying in Rome. When I first came to Catholic, I knew that I wanted to study abroad for at least a semester. I didn’t know where I wanted to go, but I wanted to have the experience of living in another country and learning a new culture. When it came time to apply for a program, I chose Rome in a heartbeat.11035696_10207052898500301_1599793496442694045_n

“But Kira, why choose a program that doesn’t offer theatre classes?” Well, to be honest that part kind of scared me. I was a little apprehensive having to sacrifice a semester’s worth of theatre classes and not being able to be involved in the department. But it turned out to be one of the best decisions I’ve made. I had the opportunity to learn about different subjects that I never thought I would be interested in. I’m taking two different art history classes ranging from ancient liturgical to imperial art and an art philosophy course. We get to travel all across town during class for site visits and see the actual works we’re discussing. Along with learning all about the history and culture of Rome, I was able to learn more about myself outside the context of theatre. This trip has forced me to find other outlets to explore and be passionate about…which so far has been food. And wine. But mostly the food.

Rome has been an absolutely incredible experience! I’ve learned more in the past few months than I ever could’ve imagined and I would recommend it to anyone thinking of studying abroad.

 

Roma calls! Arrivederci!

One comment on “History, culture, but mostly food…

  1. Pingback: The ABC’s of CUAdrama | CUAdrama

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 20, 2015 by .
